Banana Ice Lolly?

I saw something similar to this online and didn’t think it would taste nice, but my curiosity took the better of me, and I’m so glad it did.

Firstly before anything, I’d like to share a quick tip that my family and I always use when we get bananas: to make them last longer, cover the top of the bananas (where all the bananas on the bunch are joined together) with some foil. When my sister told us we should do that, we thought she was mad, but it really does work and the bananas stay fresher for longer and stay yellow/green for longer too.

IMG_6720

Ingredients: (for 2 lollies)

1 frozen banana cut in half horizontally

50g dairy-free chocolate of choice

1 teaspoon of coconut oil

2 tablespoons of chopped roasted hazelnuts

lolly stick ….. I used the cup plug of a Pret A Manger takeaway cup.

Method:

  1. Peel the banana (I used one that was really close to going off, so it was very soft but not bruised) cut in half and freeze over night.
  2. Melt the chocolate with the coconut oil in the microwave – or in bowl over boiling water.
  3. Add the hazelnuts or nut of choice into the chocolate.
  4. Coat the frozen bananas in the chocolate and put back in the freezer for a few more hours before eating!

 

Tips:

Make this your own with new flavours and ideas:

Try dehydrated strawberries or raspberries

Try a marble effect with some peanut butter or vanilla icing

Leave more suggestions in the comments!

 

Leave a comment